Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

I really love pumpkin, a lot.  I don’t really have much more to say about that.

I made chocolate chip pumpkin bread yesterday, because I had a place to bring it (Shannon’s halloween party), because I know it is Christine’s favorite, and because I love chocolate even more than I love pumpkin.  There is a part of me that feels putting chocolate in pumpkin baked goods is excessive and may distract from the pumpkin, but the other part of me decided that I could make that chocolate-less pumpkin bread some other time.

There are a billion pumpkin bread recipes on the internet, but hey, here’s another one for your enjoyment.  I used this recipe and amended it a bit.  3 cups of sugar seemed crazy so I used 2.5, but I think even 2 would have been fine.  I’m not a fan of super-sweet quick breads.  I also tossed some allspice in there because I had it.  And chocolate chips, of course.  I also made both a loaf and muffins.  They were awesome.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread/Muffins
1 15 oz can of pumpkin puree
4 eggs
1 cup vegetable oil
2/3 cup water
2 1/2 cups white sugar
3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
1/8 teaspoon allspice
chocolate chips (however many you like)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour either 2 loaf pans, or 1 loaf pan and 1 muffin tin.  

In a large bowl, mix together pumpkin puree, eggs, oil, water and sugar until well blended. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, ginger, and allspice. Stir the dry ingredients into the pumpkin mixture until just blended. Pour into the prepared pans.

Bake muffins for about 25 minutes, and the bread for about 50 minutes.  Check them frequently for doneness; they are done when a toothpick or sharp knife inserted into the bread comes out clean.  

2 responses to “Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

  1. This sounds really scrumptious.

  2. Chocolate and pumpkin sounds like a great combo!

Leave a Reply

