Sesame Noodles with Tofu and Basil

I cook for myself most nights, but it’s usually not pretty.  I generally throw together some mixture of vegetables, grains and protein (sometimes meat, but usually not), season it lightly and call it a meal.  I don’t blog about these meals because they aren’t particularly inspired, even when they taste good, and I try to make this space an archive of things worth remembering.

This was the same sort of meal- composed of things I had around, with very little planning.  But, it was easy and tasty and- pretty (I think).  I took these photos on my new iphone.

This was inspired by a dish that Dana brought to a lab picnic a few weeks ago. Hers was angel hair pasta tossed with sesame oil and soy sauce, and topped with shreds of basil and black sesame seeds. For mine, I added tofu lightly pan-fried with Chinese 5-spice. I used udon noodles because I had them, but it would have worked much better with soba or just spaghetti. And, I used some of the basil that is growing prolifically in my backyard.  And here it goes into the blog, because I think it is worth remembering and making again.

Sesame Noodles with Tofu and Basil

Boil soba or spaghetti or noodle of your choice.  While noodles are cooking, cut tofu into small cubes.  Heat a small amount of peanut oil over medium-high heat in pan.  Add tofu cubes, and season with salt and 5-spice. Toss occasionally, and remove from heat when they are lightly browned.  When noodles are cooked, drain, and add a bit of soy sauce, and a very small bit of sesame oil.  A little bit of sesame oil goes a long way, so be careful with this. Put noodles in serving bowl, and top with tofu, shredded basil, and sesame seeds.

 

One response to “Sesame Noodles with Tofu and Basil

  1. this looks really yummy

Leave a Reply

