Buckwheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

I believe I have a favorite cookie.  Last week, when Jeremy’s girlfriend Ali was visiting, they made chocolate chip buckwheat cookies , and were kind enough to share with me.  They were really good.  I asked Ali for the recipe, which she sent to me, and I made them again tonight.

Buckwheat has an earthy, distinctive flavor that carries the cookie.  Contrary to it’s name, buckwheat is not related to wheat.  Buckwheat’s wikipedia article emphasizes that it is neither a cereal nor a grass, and belongs to a family known as the pseudocereals, inhabited also by quinoa and chia.

I made these cookies with about half the sugar recommended, and they came out perfectly.  I appreciate how the dark, nutty flavor of the slightly sweet cookie contrasts with the sharp sweetness of the chocolate chips.  The cookies are dense but pleasantly crumbly, and are best eaten with milk or the beverage of your choice.

The recipe I used is adapted from this one.  I was not concerned with keeping them gluten-free, so my recipe uses different flours, and different quantities of sugar and chocolate chips as well.

Buckwheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 cup buckwheat flour
1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
1 shy cup vegetable oil
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon water
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups chocolate chips

Combine flours, baking powder, and salt.

Combine oil, sugar, vanilla, and water and beat until creamy.  Add the eggs, and beat until blended.

Gradually add the flour mixture, mixing well.  Stir in chocolate chips.  Mix until combined.  The dough will be thick.

Drop spoonfuls onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.  Bake at  375°F for 10-12 minutes.  Mine were done after 10.  Cool on a baking rack before enjoying.

I put most of my dough into the freezer to take out and bake as needed.

6 responses to “Buckwheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Delicious! I like the alterations you made!

  2. What a great close-up of the cookies! Yum!

  3. I have been craving cookies. And I have a bag of buckwheat flour that I got as a gift from my stepmom… it is from a farm near where she lives. And they are already non-dairy! I am going to try them. Perhaps substituting coconut oil for some or part of the veggie oil. I suppose I could go so far as replacing the eggs with flax eggs as well. We’ll see how ambitious I am 🙂

    • Awesome! I just made another batch with some updates. I wanted to try substituting some of the sugar for banana, so I mashed up a very ripe banana and used only 1/2 cup of brown sugar. I also added about a tablespoon of flax seeds for a little texture. They are really tasty! Just a hint of banana flavor.

  4. these look really good!

  5. Pingback: Vegan Chocolate Chip Shortbread « Aubergine Love

Leave a Reply

