Spring Onion and Yellow Squash Galette

Last week, I was trying to come up with an appetizer to bring to dinner at Jen and Zack’s.  I was at the Nugget and the typical almost-too-friendly bagger starting gleefully naming things he would make now that cherry season has begun.  One of the things was a galette (the first time I heard it spoken aloud, though I’ve been seeing recipes for them for a while).  This inspired me, and I looked for a recipe.  I found one in Alice Waters’ The Art of Simple Food.  It describes in beautiful, simple language the intricacies of creating a perfect tart crust.

So the trick to proper tart dough is to handle it as little as possible.  For one galette, I started with 1 cup of all-purpose flour, and cut in 3/4 of a stick of butter.  The butter needs to be cold.  I used a pastry cutter, but if you combine with your fingers, use the tips of your fingers and not the warm palms of your hand.  You don’t want the butter to melt in the flour.  Combine until the mix is crumbly, with large-ish pieces of butter left in.  Mix in about 1/4 cup of ice water, slowly, and push the dough together with a fork.  Add just enough water for the dough to form large clumps.  Bring the dough together and form a ball.  The dough should not be too moist or sticky.  Wrap the dough in plastic and flatten into a disc.  Let it sit in the fridge for at least an hour.

When ready to prepare, roll out the dough to a thickness of about 1/8 inch, rolling from the center of the circle outward.  Fill it with pretty much anything you like.  It is best to use a layer of filling that is about twice as thick as the crust.  Spread (or arrange) your filling on the dough, leaving half an inch or so around the edges.  Fold the dough over the filling as pictured.

I decided to fill mine with spring onions and grated yellow squash, sauteed in butter with fresh thyme sprigs until soft.  Brian grated the squash, as documented above.

Bake the galette at 350 degrees for 40-50 minutes.  I think I took mine out at 47 minutes.  The crust should look golden and flaky.

I have to say, this galette was pretty awesome.  However, it is not at its best as an appetizer for tons and tons of amazing grilled pizza (which will be the topic of my next post, coming shortly).  I suggest serving it with something light, like salad, because it is not light itself.  I’m excited to fill this crust with other lovely spring things, and perhaps some cheese.  Or fruit.  You should too.

3 responses to “Spring Onion and Yellow Squash Galette

  1. This looks like a masterpiece.

  2. I’d say that while this galette would totally be great as a main course served with a salad, it was also awesome as a pre-course to pizza 🙂

  3. My mouth is watering!

Leave a Reply

