Veggie Samosas

For the last two Fridays, I tried making something completely new.  On the first Friday, I made ravioli from a cookbook that my parents brought back from Sicily.  It was kind of a disaster.  I don’t want to talk about it.  But thank you, dinner guests, for being so polite.  I’ll try again soon, when I have more time to spend on it.

Then, last night, Brian and I made samosas to bring as an appetizer for dinner at Jen and Zack’s.  They were pretty simple to make, and very delicious.  We used filo dough, and baked rather than fried them.  I didn’t follow any recipe in particular, but looked at a ton of them on various blogs to get a sense for ingredients, spices and cooking times.  I thought they turned out really delicious.  I didn’t really measure things precisely, but I’ll give estimates below.

Veggie Samosas (makes about 30 samosas)

  • 4 Yukon Gold potatoes
  • 1 1/4 cups frozen peas
  • 1 large onion, finely diced
  • 4 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp fennel seed
  • 1/2 tsp tarragon
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • salt
  • pepper
  • dried red chile pepper, minced (we used about 1/3 of the pepper- depends on how much spice you can take)
  • filo (phyllo) dough
  • butter, melted

Begin by boiling the potatoes, skin on, for about 20 minutes until they are somewhat soft but don’t fall apart.  While potatoes are boiling, heat the oil in a large frying pan or wok, and add the onions.  Saute until onions are slightly browned.

Add the peas and spices, and cook for another 5 minutes.

Let the boiled potatoes cool, then peel them and chop into 1/4 inch squares.  Add to the saute, and continue cooking mixture until all ingredients are soft.  Add more salt and pepper to taste.  Remove from heat and let cool before forming the samosas.

I think this site has excellent instructions for forming the samosas.  We followed them, and it worked nicely (despite some frustration with the filo dough).

Fit the samosas into an oiled pan, and bake at 375 degrees for 25 minutes.

3 responses to “Veggie Samosas

  1. Good to see this blog, it has been awhile. That cookbook has some shortcomings, I guess.

  2. Looks delicious.

  3. I love that you blogged about these! They were delicious! And I love seeing Brian helping out in the kitchen 🙂

    I got 40 visits to my blog the day you posted this, too bad I don’t update my blog often enough to keep new visitors coming back.

    Let’s do dinner again some time soon!

Leave a Reply

