Applesauce

Those are some ugly apples, you might be thinking.  They totally are, and that’s why they were 1/2 off at the farmer’s market.  This made me happy, as apple bruises don’t mean much when you are planning on cooking and squishing them anyway.

When I was young, I had a “child’s cookbook,” and the only recipe I remember was one for applesauce.  It was pretty much the same applesauce I made this evening: sweet, spiced, and chunky.

Anyways, homemade applesauce is easy and delicious and it makes your kitchen smell amazing.  I suggest you make some, and I suggest you look for the basket of ugly produce at the market.

Applesauce (Adapted from The Garden of Eating)

  • 3 pounds apples, peeled, cored and cut into 1/2″ chunks
  • 1/2 cup apple juice (or water)
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 cinammon sticks
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • Ground nutmeg, cinnamon, and ginger to taste

Place the apples in a large pot with the juice, and simmer on medium-low heat for 20 minutes or until the apples have softened.  Add the sugar, lemon, and spices, and cook for another 5 minutes.  Remove from heat, and mash to your desired consistency.  I like my applesauce chunky, but if you like it smooth you could blend it at this point.

 

2 responses to “Applesauce

  1. I can easily imagine that combined, wonderful, nose-tingling smell of cooked apples and cinnamon.

  2. mmm, yum! this would be great stirred into oatmeal in the morning…i just might make this for breakfast tomorrow 🙂

Leave a Reply

