Tuna Noodle Casserole: Backpacking Style

Drat!  August is almost over and I did not manage to write a single post.  Thus, I will share this rather unimpressive thing with you, to maintain some semblance of consistency.

Several weeks ago I spent four days backpacking on the Lost Coast in Northern California with Erin, Melissa and Maryam.  We were each responsible for a different meal, and my job was dinner for the first night.  I think planning backpacking meals is really fun because there are multiple challenges: it needs to be light, delicious, and nutritious enough to fuel a day of hiking (or, in this case, trudging through sand and rocks).

I made this thing, and it was pretty much awesomely delicious.  Admittedly, most things are awesomely delicious when eaten outdoors and after a day of trudging.  Also, I don’t suppose I can claim credit for the deliciousness of boxed macaroni and cheese.  But, if you are looking for a good backpacking meal, I suggest this.

  • macaroni and cheese from a box, the kind that comes with a ready-made cheese sauce packet (not the powder).
  • packet of tuna
  • toasted slivered almonds
  • 1 celery stalk, chopped

Prepare the macaroni and cheese as directed.  It is good to have the ready-made cheese sauce because you don’t have to add milk or butter.  Mix in the tuna packet and celery.  Top with almonds.  I had toasted and seasoned the almonds with salt and cayenne pepper before leaving home.

Well, I felt pretty foolish typing that out, but what’s done is done.  I leave you with this photo of our dining backdrop.


8 responses to “Tuna Noodle Casserole: Backpacking Style

  1. Looks like it was a little bit chilly.

  2. This is my favorite recipe of yours! i like how it includes meat without feet!

  3. this rules. i want to eat it!

  4. I ate an early version of this (at Big Basin… after hiking for 11 miles on the first day) and thought it was very good. I’m sure this version was even better.

  5. We made a version of it this past weekend and included sun dried tomatoes. It was really good.

  6. damn girl…didn’t realize you seasoned the almonds with salt and cayenne…gettin’ fancy with the backpacking cuisine!

Leave a Reply

