Cinnamon Pecan Chocolate Chip Cookies

I am a fan of cinnamon.  I am a fan of chocolate chip cookies.   Normally, I am not a fan of nuts in my cookies, but I have been on a pecan kick in 2010, so I thought, why not.

I used Smitten Kitchen’s favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe, and added 3/4 teaspoon of cinnamon at the same time as the egg and vanilla.  Probably would have been more logical to add it to the flour mixture for better dispersion, but it worked out fine.  However, next time I’ll try adding at least a full teaspoon, because the cinnamon was muted in the final product.

But still, these are so delicious!  Holy cow, seriously.  I need to distribute them immediately before I eat them all myself.

So, I keep trying to watch the movie Julie and Julia (streaming on Netflix… awesome), but I get bored or frustrated.  It just so happens that I have been perfecting my poached egg technique all week (seriously, poached egg for dinner every day), and the scene where Julie poaches an egg for the first time drives me crazy.  Oh my gosh, don’t just plop the egg into the water from a foot above!  You have to ever-so-gently slide it into the water, preferably from a cup that you have broken it into.  Don’t stir it!  Ahh!

In other food-related news, I recently bought fennel for the first time, inspired by a salad made at Emily O.’s house.  The very next day, my mother called me out of the blue to ask what one does with fennel.  Slice it into a salad, I told her.  (I’m aware that there are other things to be done with fennel, I just haven’t explored yet).  I love coincidence.

2 responses to “Cinnamon Pecan Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. So glad to see I made it into your blog! I will definitely try slicing the fennel into a salad.

  2. ooh ooh i ate these they were gooooooooooood!

Leave a Reply

