Orecchiette with Cherry Tomatoes and Arugula

I ran my first half marathon today!  It felt, and feels, amazing.  I did much better than I expected to (2:13:16!), and felt good and strong for most of the race.  Adrenaline is a wonderful thing.

Also important is fueling and hydrating properly, something I never really got the hang of (or put much effort into) during training, but did for this race.

Last night, my carb-heavy meal of choice was orecchiette with cherry tomatoes and arugula, which I took from Smitten Kitchen.  I also threw some chicken sausage on top for protein.

It was very tasty, and apparently did the trick.  For breakfast before the race, I had oatmeal with banana slices, pecans and honey.  And a ton of water.  Once I can move my legs again (holy cow I am sore), I’m going to start getting smarter about training, and stop running on an empty stomach.  I’m already excited about the future of my running life.

Hurray endorphins!

One response to “Orecchiette with Cherry Tomatoes and Arugula

  1. This looks incredibly tasty…I think I will try making it.

Leave a Reply

