Curly Kale and Potato Soup

I have to admit, when I first started making this soup, I thought I was making “curry kale and potato soup.”  It took me a while to realize that curry powder (or any spice for that matter) had not made the ingredient list.  Then, I re-read the title and felt slightly moronic.

This soup is highly delicious, and gave me a reason to transform a very, very stale piece of leftover bread into very tasty croutons.  Few things make me happier than finding a way to use something that almost belongs in the garbage (a too-ripe banana, a rock-solid chunk of rosemary bread).  This also helped me make my way through an enormous Costco bag of fingerling potatoes which were starting to stress me out a bit (this is why I don’t normally shop at Costco).

Curly Kale and Potato Soup with Rosemary Croutons and Parmesan

Curly Kale and Potato Soup (Adapted from The Art of Simple Food)

Remove the tough stems from the leaves of 1 large bunch of kale, curly or Russian.  Wash, drain well, and coarsely chop.  Heat in a heavy soup pot: 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil.  Add: 2 onions, sliced thin.  Cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until soft, tender, and slightly browned, about 12 minutes.  While the onions are cooking, peel, cut in half, and cut into 1/4-inch-thick slices 1 lb potatoes (recipe calls for Yellow Finn or Yukon gold, I used fingerling because I had a large bag of them already).  When the onions are cooked, stir in 4 garlic cloves, chopped.  Cook the garlic for a couple minutes, then add the potatoes and kale.  Stir, then add a large pinch of salt.  Cook for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Pour in 6 cups chicken broth.  Raise the heat, bring to a boil, then immediately reduce the heat to a simmer and cook for 30 minutes, or until the kale and potatoes are tender.  Taste the soup and add more salt if necessary.  Garnish with Parmesan cheese, freshly grated, and croutons (optional).  Also optional: Add 1 1/2 cups cooked white beans 10 minutes before soup is finished (I used Cannelini).

For the croutons: Cut bread into 1/2 inch cubes, toss with olive oil and salt, and bake until golden in a 350 degree oven, about 12 minutes.

If you are wondering why I have started typing my recipes in this fashion, it is because Alice Waters does it this way, and I love it.  The bold lettering makes it easy to write your shopping list, and as you make you way through the recipe, you don’t have to look to the top of the page (or the previous page) to recall how much of each ingredient you should be using, and what to do with that ingredient.  I think it is brilliant.

Moving on from my soup… I would like to say that today was gorgeous.  To celebrate the weather, Scott and I left work a bit early and drove to Stevenson Bridge.  It is a beautiful spot surrounded by green fields and orchards, and the sky, graffiti, and Scott cooperated very nicely in my photo shoot.

2 responses to “Curly Kale and Potato Soup

  1. OOH i can’t believe you went to that bridge – is it as cool as ppl say? pretty photos!!! see you bright and early!!!!!

Leave a Reply

