Pepita Fig Granola

So let me tell you about this granola I made last night.  It was adapted from Smitten Kitchen and tastes amazing, even when slightly overcooked, as mine was.  It was also a good excuse to raid the bulk section of the Davis Co-Op.

I stirred together in a big mixing bowl:

3 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
1 cup sweetened flaked coconut
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/3 cup sliced almonds
1/2 cup chopped walnuts
1/3 cup green (hulled) pumpkin seeds, not roasted
1/3 cup packed dark brown sugar
1/4 cup mild honey
Pinch cinnamon
Pinch salt

I spread the mixture on a large baking sheet covered in parchment paper.  I roasted mine at 375°F for 25 minutes, stirring every so often.  Deb suggested checking it after 15 minutes, and I probably should have taken mine out around 20.

I put the baking sheet on a rack to cool for 45 minutes, again stirring occasionally.

I then added the following:

1 cup diced dried figs
1 cup diced dried apricots
1 cup dried currants

I suggest putting on some good morning music, and eating this with yogurt and banana slices.


Leave a Reply

