Roasted Rainbow Carrots and Shiitake Bok Choy Soup

This morning, I finally became a true citizen of Davis and went to the Saturday farmer’s market.  It is beyond me how I managed to live here for 2 1/2 months before making it.  Renata’s friend Lea was in town, which motivated the trip.  It was a very cold and foggy morning, and my fingers were numb as I poked at various vegetables.

My happy discovery at the market was a bunch of rainbow carrots.  There is a recipe for roasted carrots and avocados on Smitten Kitchen that calls for rainbow carrots; I had made it twice before with regular carrots and been overwhelmed by the deliciousness, so of course I had to buy these.  And look how pretty they are!

Renata bought the ingredients for a bok choy and shiitake soup (described/improvised by Lea), and we headed to the Co-op where I bought the remaining ingredients for my dish, and became a co-op member (another necessary Davis first!).

Dinner was lovely.

Shiitake Bok Choy Soup

  • several Shiitake mushrooms
  • several heads of bok choy
  • ginger
  • garlic
  • broth
  • salt and pepper
  • olive oil

Saute the mushrooms and bok choy in some olive oil.  Simmer in pot with broth, garlic, and ginger, and season with salt and pepper.

bok choy

shiitakes

shiitakes simmering

bok choy saute

soup

Roasted Carrot and Avocado Salad (Smitten Kitchen)

I would make it again (and again and again).  Pure success, all of it.

better than it looks.

One response to “Roasted Rainbow Carrots and Shiitake Bok Choy Soup

  1. the most scrumptious carrots ever.

Leave a Reply

