Sunday night pizza

Tonight, Renata and I invited Scott over for dinner, as a “thank you” for lending us his parents’ truck to pick up various items in our move.  We made pizza.  Lots of pizza.  We had so many delicious things growing in our garden/sitting in our kitchen that it seemed necessary to use them all.

I made the following pizzas:

tomato sauce, mozzarella, pepperoni

pesto, mozzarella, tomatos

tomato sauce, mozzarella, roasted acorn squash, red onion, zucchini

The last was the most delicious, in my opinion.  Renata made a similar combination of pizzas on her gluten-free dough, which was also tasty (but a slightly strange consistency).

pepperoni, pesto/mozzarella/tomato

pepperoni, pesto/mozzarella/tomato

The pesto was made from my basil plants, and the tomatoes and zucchini were from the garden as well.  I picked up the acorn squash at the Nugget earlier in the week, with no plan for it, because it looked so pretty and so Fall-ish.

Recipes:

pizza dough (Smitten Kitchen)

Pizza 1: Pretty self-explanatory.  I used Trader Joe’s garlic basil marinara sauce as a base, and added fresh mozzarella and the pepperoni Scott brought over.

pesto ingredients

pesto ingredients

Pizza 2: I made a pesto out of things I had in the kitchen.  About a cup of packed basil leaves, a couple springs of parsley, 1/4 cup pecans, 1/2 cup fresh grated parmesan, 1 garlic clove, salt, and 1/2 cup of olive oil.  Process everything except the oil in the food processor, and then add the oil slowly while blending.  I used this as a base for the pizza, and layered tomatoes and mozzarella on top.

acorn squash, onion, zucchini

acorn squash, onion, zucchini

Pizza 3: I used the marinara as a base, and added mozzarella, acorn squash, thinly sliced red onions, and zucchini.  For the acorn squash, I cut it into 1/2 inch slices, and tossed it with some maple syrup, olive oil, salt and red pepper flakes.  I roasted it for 25 minutes at 375 degrees.

It occurs to me that a disproportionate number of my recent meals have involved pizza.  But pizza is wonderful.  It is the perfect vehicle for pretty much any kind of produce, sauce or meat.  Thank you, pizza, for carrying my acorn squash and pesto.

acorn squash, ready for roasting

acorn squash, ready for roasting

countertop (with wine struggle)

countertop (with wine struggle)

Renata pretending to eat gluten

Renata pretending to eat gluten

Leave a Reply

